Mahallah Ali Ibn Abi Talib :: The Leading Mahallah in IIUM :: International Islamic University Malaysia

  • 12:08:15 pm on September 30, 2006 | 3

    Bakal-MujahidMujahidah-Korea.jpg

    Muhtar Suhaili was the former resident of mahallah Ali Ibn Abi Talib. He was not only known as the president of Students Representative Council (SRC) but he was also a columnist for several  local magazines.

    Reading is my number one hobby. I like to read books in various subjects, magazines and articles from the websites.

    Among the authors that I admire very much are Professor. Dr. Yusof al-Qaradhawi, Allahyarham Buya Prof. Dr. HAMKA, Dr. Aidh ibn Abdullah al-Qarni, Harun Yahya,  Sheikh Abul Hassan Ali an-Nadwi, Dr. Danial Zainal Abidin, Ary Ginanjar Agustian, Ramlee Awang Murshid and many more. After all, I enjoy reading so much!

    Furthermore, I like to write articles on my views, about virtues, wisdoms and especially Muslims’ dilemma. Alhamdulillah, I had the opportunity to be one of the columnists for several magazines before. May this effort would be considered as beneficial ‘amal by the Almighty Allah SWT.

    To tell you the truth, starting from my childhood until form three, my father desired me to become a lawyer. I don’t know why. However, fortunately or unfortunately, I joined pure science’s stream class in form four and thus my father’s aspiration could not be realised.

    It is a decision.

    Anyhow, later on he agreed with my decision to study engineering field. Alhamdulillah, I have graduated from International Islamic University Malaysia with Bachelor of Engineering in Mechatronics (Honours).

    In fact my ambition was to be an outstanding academician, or a lecturer, motivator, teacher, preacher, tutor and dae’i. Praise be to Allah upon all things, currently I am working as the Control and Automation Engineer of Sarawak Shell Berhad. Previously, I was employed by Perodua Auto Corporation Sdn. Bhd. as one of its engineers.

    Mr President.

    Formerly,  I was appointed as the President  of Students’ Representative Council 2003/2004 of IIUM. Soon I realised that it was a test for me from the Almighty God.  Above all, I experienced and learned many wisdoms from this one year tenureship of SRC Presidency. Among others are:

    I absolutely of the view that leadership is action, not position!

    It is nice to be important, but it is more important to be nice!

    Doing right is a might, eventhough might is not necessary right!

    Vision without action is a daydream and action without vision is a nightmare!

    If you want to satisfy everybody, you will satisfy nobody!

    Politic is good, but politicians are not so good!

    To know that you do not know is the best. To pretend to know when you do not know is a disease. Only when one recognizes a disease as a disease, can one be freed from that disease.

    If you wish to contact Muhtar Suhaili, log on to his blog at the following address:

    http://muhtarsuhaili.tripod.comAlif Newsletter

     

Comments


Leave a Reply

